Christina Zastrow

The Long Way Home

An amazing opportunity and a request for help

Leave a comment

One of my goals when I came here was to focus on my mental and physical health. I’ve taken to twice weekly jogs, and try to eat more real food than anything else, but I was looking for a way to keep myself motivated.

Years ago, I asked a friend to help me get in shape and we started walking weekly. Those workouts blossomed into one of my best friendships and until I fell off the healthy wagon, that was the core of what we did. We walked almost every night for awhile, and ran several 5ks under the team name Unicorn Success Club, bolstered by the stories of a very wise blogger who made me laugh even in the darkest times.

I stopped running when I got sick and have never really picked it back up again, even with my new “let’s get healthy again” attitude. I struggled to find my motivation.

I found it in the Conquer the Wall marathon, held in May. The goal I’ve set for myself is to complete the 10k, but in order to actually register, I’m seeking a little help from my friends.

The marathon costs 295 USD (a little over 1700 yuan, or about half a month’s rent), and is a little more than I can spend on luxuries while I’m here. I got to China, at least partly, on donations from friends, family, and complete strangers who wanted to help with my journey and who supported me on GoFundMe. Now, I’d like to ask for a little more help in making my goals a reality. Please share, donate, or wish me luck over at https://www.gofundme.com/ChristinaZastrow and thanks for reading 🙂

Author: Christina Zastrow

Somewhere along my way through life, I managed to lose sight of myself. Then when my first long term relationship fell apart I found myself homeless, unemployed, and without family or support system. I decided it was time to find my way home, back to myself. This is my journey.

Leave a Reply

