Christina Zastrow

The Long Way Home

This is how horror movies start

Leave a comment

Last weekend I went to see The Great Wall of China. Because I live in Beijing and I think it’s illegal to leave without seeing it. That, however, is a post for another time.

After the wall my friend and I were walking the 1.5 km back to the bus stop at dusk when we encountered this

img_20161014_174746

AKA –  an abandoned bus blocking of a whole road in the middle of nowhere. About .5 km from a place called Safari World, where I later learned, a woman died awhile ago because she was mauled by a free range tiger.

Obviously, we had to go explore. And every single picture looks like it might be a still from a semi-crappy horror movie…

img_20161014_174729

Because without proof that I got on the bus, no one would ever believe it. It was far creepier than it looks in pictures.

img_20161014_175421

What’s a creepy abandoned bus without a weird, scary, abandoned building surrounded by overgrown weeds, rattlesnakes, and oh by the way… probably ghosts.

img_20161014_175437

Did I mention the ghosts? Those creepy angled and cut off trees in the background were supposed to be the subject of this picture, but I’m pretty sure the ghostly white squiggle there in the foreground is a more interesting subject.

I can’t wait to go back during the day and see how creepy it is when I’m not already a little scared because I’m walking down an abandoned highway at dusk. I also can’t wait to head out to the abandoned amusement park I learned about when I showed these to a Chinese friend. I’m gonna have an interesting Halloween…

 

 

Author: Christina Zastrow

Somewhere along my way through life, I managed to lose sight of myself. Then when my first long term relationship fell apart I found myself homeless, unemployed, and without family or support system. I decided it was time to find my way home, back to myself. This is my journey.

Leave a Reply

