Christina Zastrow

The Long Way Home

A new addiction

Leave a comment

I was sitting on a plane, waiting to take off to head into Xi’an to celebrate the new year, when I realized something. I, who didn’t take my first flight until I was 33, who had never been away from “home” until I left for Beijing, have become an addict.

Airplanes, and the people on them, have always fascinated me. Their stories fill my brain every time I see a plane. Now I walk confidently through the airport, sure of myself and my plans and I wait anxiously for the moment the wheels leave the ground again, because from that moment of wheels up on my way, until they hit the ground again on my return trip, anything can happen. There is no return to my daily routines because I’m not in the same place as my routines. That is the moment my spirit and my imagination soar and I begin my next adventure.

By the time the wheels go down on my return, I’m already thinking “where to next?” and planning the next time I’m headed out, into the world.

Author: Christina Zastrow

Somewhere along my way through life, I managed to lose sight of myself. Then when my first long term relationship fell apart I found myself homeless, unemployed, and without family or support system. I decided it was time to find my way home, back to myself. This is my journey.

Leave a Reply

